## TEACHERS' RETIREMENT SYSTEM OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS



Richard W. Ingram, Executive Director 2815 West Washington Street, P.O. Box 19253 Springfield, Illinois 62794-9253

## MINUTES Legislative Committee December 13, 2018

A meeting of the Legislative Committee of the Board of Trustees of the Illinois Teachers' Retirement System was held on December 13, 2018 at the Hilton Rosemont Chicago O'Hare, 5550 North River Road, Rosemont, Illinois. Cinda Klickna, Chair, called the meeting to order at 9:22 a.m. A quorum was present.

Roll Call attendance was taken with the following committee members present: Cinda Klickna, (Chair); Dan Winter, (Vice Chair); John Bloomfield, Larry Pfeiffer, and Tracy Kearney. Trustees present: Matt Hower, Fred Peronto, Andy Hirshman, Mark Bailey, Laura Pearl, Mark Shaw, Mark Splitstone, and Tony Smith.

Others present: Dick Ingram, Executive Director; Stan Rupnik, Chief Investment Officer; Jana Bergschneider, Chief Financial Officer; Gina Larkin, Chief Human Resources Officer; Stacy Smith, Director of Internal Audit; Marcy Dutton, Chief Legal Counsel; Carlton Lenoir, Chief Benefits Officer; Dave Urbanek, Director of Communications; Bob Jiroutek, Risk Officer; Jeremy Crites, Security Supervisor; Tammy Green, Executive Assistant; and Tiffany Reeves, Reinhart (Fiduciary Counsel).

The 100<sup>th</sup> Illinois General Assembly concludes with little action taken during 2018. J.B. Pritzker will be sworn in as governor on Jan. 14, 2019 resulting in an Executive branch changeover and approximately 40 new legislators within the 101<sup>st</sup> General Assembly. A lot of time will be spent on education efforts with new legislators and their staff. Andrew Bodewes, Legislative Consultant, reported that the first several months will not be pension focused. Discussion was held regarding the necessity of additional resources and outreach to provide facts to the new legislators that addresses TRS's funding issue.

## ADJOURNMENT

On a motion by Tracy Kearney, seconded by John Bloomfield, and by unanimous vote, the meeting adjourned at 10:09 a.m.

Richard W. Ingram, Executive Director

V Erchard Sugar

Approved: 3/14/19\_