MINUTES Legislative Committee October 28, 2019

A meeting of the Legislative Committee of the Board of Trustees of the Illinois Teachers' Retirement System was held on October 28, 2019 at the Springfield office, 2815 W. Washington Street. Larry Pfeiffer, Chair, called the meeting to order at 2:08 p.m. A quorum was present.

Roll Call attendance was taken with the following committee members present: Larry Pfeiffer, Chair; Laura Pearl, Vice Chair; Marsha Byas, and Norma Bellcoff. Committee member Matt Hunt was absent. Trustees present: Andy Hirshman, David Miller, Doug Strand, Mark Bailey, Fred Peronto, and Carmen Ayala.

Others present: Dick Ingram, Executive Director; Stan Rupnik, Chief Investment Officer; Marcy Dutton, Chief Legal Counsel; Cynthia Fain, Senior Legal Counsel; Gina Larkin, Chief Human Resources Officer; Jana Bergschneider, Chief Financial Officer; Carlton Lenoir, Chief Benefits Officer; Jay Singh, Chief Information Officer; Bob Jiroutek, Sr. Risk Officer; Deron Bertolo, Director of Investment Accounting; Stacy Smith, Director of Internal Audit and Risk; Christina Baker, Sr. Internal Auditor; Matt Sporlein, Internal Auditor; Jeff Bennett, Director of Operations; Dave Urbanek, Director of Communications; Kathleen Farney and Amy Reynolds, Director of Research; Tammy Green, Executive Assistant; Sue Billington, Executive Assistant; and Tiffany Reeves, Reinhart (Fiduciary Counsel).

Visitor present: Christine Williamson, Pensions & Investments

Approval of Minutes

A draft of the March 14, 2019 minutes of the Legislative Committee meeting was sent to committee members for review. On a motion by Laura Pearl, seconded by Marsha Byas, the minutes were approved by unanimous voice vote.

Legislative Update

Andrew Bodewes, Legislative Consultant, presented an update on legislature influencing the System.

Legislative Platform

Marcy Dutton, Chief Legal Counsel, and Andrew Bodewes, Legislative Consultant, reviewed the Legislative Platform as provided to the committee members.

ADJOURNMENT

On a motion by Laura Pearl, seconded by Norma Bellcoff, and by unanimous vote, the meeting adjourned at 2:20 p.m.

Stan Rupnik, Executive Director & Chief Investment Officer

Approved: August 11, 2022