TEACHERS' RETIREMENT SYSTEM OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS



2815 W Washington St | PO Box 19253 | Springfield IL 62794-9253 R. Stanley Rupnik, Interim Executive Director http://www.trsil.org 877-927-5877 (877-9-ASK-TRS) | FAX: 217-753-0964

MINUTES Board of Trustees Virtual Special Meeting July 31, 2020

President Bruce called a virtual special meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Illinois Teachers' Retirement System on July 31, 2020 in accordance with Public Act 101-640 and Section 12 of the Governor's most recent disaster proclamation issued July 24, 2020. President Bruce read into the record that it is not practical or prudent to have an in-person meeting due to the current coronavirus pandemic.

Requirements under the law include:

- All votes must be roll call votes so that each member's vote on each issue can be identified and recorded.
- Prepare and maintain a verbatim record of both the open and closed sessions of the remote meeting.
- Everyone must be able to hear one another.

Note: Marcy Dutton, Chief Legal Counsel, was present at the regular meeting location in Springfield, 2815 W. Washington Street.

President Bruce called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m. A quorum was present. Roll Call attendance was taken with the following trustees present: Beth Anderson, Carmen Ayala, Marsha Byas, Norma Bellcoff, Andy Hirshman, Matt Hunt, Maureen Mena, David Miller, Fred Peronto, Larry Pfeiffer, Doug Strand, Mark Bailey, Vice President and Devon Bruce, President. Absent: Matthew Shattock.

Others present: Marcy Dutton, Chief Legal Counsel; Carlton Lenoir, Chief Benefits Officer; Tammy Green, Executive Assistant; Abby Griffith, Investment Accounting Manager; Chad Fry, Technical Systems Manager; Rich Frankenfeld, Director of Outreach; Jeff Bennett, Director of Operations; Dave Urbanek, Director of Communications; Chris Wiedel, Director of IT; Christi McCormick, Benefits Supervisor Optional Service & Refunds; Heidi Darow, Purchasing Officer; Sue Billington, Executive Assistant; Susan Robinson, Accounting Manager; Andrew Bodewes, Legislative Consultant; and Tiffany Reeves, Reinhart (Fiduciary Counsel). Note: Unable to determine some of the public participants that joined the meeting as audio attendees.

No public comments were heard.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

A motion was made by Trustee Hunt, seconded by Trustee Hirshman, that the Board enter into executive session for the purpose of discussing the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of specific employees and litigation as permitted under the following exceptions set forth in the Open Meetings Act which authorizes the closing of the meeting to the public: 5 ILCS 120/2(c) (1) and 5 ILCS 120/2(c) (11). Roll call resulted in affirmative voice votes from Trustees Anderson, Ayala, Byas, Bellcoff, Hirshman, Hunt, Mena, Miller, Peronto, Pfeiffer, Strand, Bailey, and Bruce. Motion Carried.

No action was taken during executive session. A motion was made by Trustee Strand, seconded by Trustee Bailey, that the Board come out of executive session. Roll call resulted in affirmative voice votes from Trustees Anderson, Ayala, Byas, Bellcoff, Hirshman, Hunt, Mena, Miller, Peronto, Pfeiffer, Strand, Bailey, and Bruce. Motion Carried.

Personnel

On a motion by President Bruce, seconded by Trustee Bailey, it was resolved:

Based upon discussions with outside legal counsel, the Board hereby places Director Richard Ingram on administrative leave with pay subject to further discussions of the Board.

Roll call resulted in affirmative voice votes from Trustees Anderson, Ayala, Byas, Bellcoff, Hirshman, Hunt, Mena, Miller, Peronto, Pfeiffer, Strand, Bailey, and Bruce. Motion Carried.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to be brought before the Board, a motion was made by President Bruce, seconded by Trustee Hirshman, to adjourn the meeting at 4:22 p.m. Roll call resulted in affirmative voice votes from Trustees Anderson, Ayala, Byas, Bellcoff, Hirshman, Hunt, Mena, Miller, Peronto, Pfeiffer, Strand, Bailey, and Bruce. Motion Carried.

Stan Rupnik, Interim Executive Director

Approved: 8/28/20