TEACHERS' RETIREMENT SYSTEM OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS



2815 West Washington Street | P.O. Box 19253 | Springfield, Illinois 62794-9253 R. Stanley Rupnik, Executive Director & Chief Investment Officer http://www.trsil.org 877-927-5877 (877-9-ASK-TRS)

MINUTES Rules & Personnel Committee June 8, 2023

A meeting of the Rules & Personnel Committee of the Board of Trustees of the Teachers' Retirement System of the State of Illinois was held on June 8, 2023 at NIU Naperville, 1120 E. Diehl Rd., Naperville, IL. Trustee Marsha Byas (Vice Chair) called the meeting to order at 9:46 AM. Roll call attendance was taken with the following committee members present: Trustee Joe Blomquist, Trustee Marsha Byas (Vice Chair), Trustee Mike Goetz, Trustee Andy Hirshman, and Trustee Mia Jazo-Harris. A quorum was present.

Others in attendance: Trustee Beth Anderson; Trustee Kevin "Duffy" Blackburn; Trustee Matt Hunt; Trustee Maureen Mena; Trustee Fred Peronto; Trustee Larry Pfeiffer; Trustee Tony Sanders; Stan Rupnik, Executive Director & Chief Investment Officer; Sally Antonacci, Executive Officer; Chelsea Duis, Executive Administrator; Deron Bertolo, Chief Financial Officer; Gloria Lasley, Chief Operating Officer; Emily Peterson, General Counsel; Cynthia Fain, Senior Legal Counsel; Michelle Kissel, Director of Human Resources; Kyle Thornton, Network Administrator; Will Daugherty, Senior Technical Support Specialist; and Jessica Culotti of Reinhart Boerner Van Deuren (Fiduciary Counsel).

Remote attendees: Stacy Smith, Director of Internal Audit & Risk; Lori Dour, Chief Benefits Officer; Dave Urbanek, Director of Communications; and John Gerding, Director of Information Technology.

Visitors: Diane Chapman, IEA; Angela Myers, Loop Capital

Public Comment

None

Minutes

A draft of the December 6, 2022 minutes of the Rules & Personnel Committee meeting was sent to the committee members for review. On a motion by Trustee Jazo-Harris, seconded by Trustee Blomquist, the minutes were approved by unanimous voice vote. Documentation is on file.

Executive Session

A motion was made by Trustee Blomquist, seconded by Trustee Hirshman, that the Committee enter into executive session to discuss matters as authorized and permitted under the following exception set forth by the Open Meetings Act: the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of specific employees or legal counsel for the public body, including hearing testimony on a complaint lodged against an employee or legal counsel for the public body, to determine its validity [5 ILCS 120/2(c)(1)].

Minutes – Rules & Personnel Committee June 8, 2023 Page 2 of 2

Roll call resulted in affirmative voice votes from Trustees Blomquist, Byas, Goetz, Hirshman, and Jazo-Harris.

The public meeting closed at 9:48 AM.

No action was taken during executive session.

The public meeting reconvened at 10:09 AM. Roll call attendance was taken with the following trustees present: Trustees Blomquist, Byas, Goetz, Hirshman, and Jazo-Harris.

Trustee Concerns

None

<u>Adjournment</u>

On a motion by Trustee Blomquist, seconded by Hirshman, and by unanimous voice vote, the meeting adjourned at 10:09 AM.

Stan Rupnik, Executive Director & Chief Investment Officer

Approved: 08/15/2023